Institute of Public and International Law


This competition was started by the Institute’s director, Professor Jacob W.F. Sundberg, in 1983 with a unique involvement of students, academics, advocates and judges. It was originally called the Sporrong and Lönnroth Moot Court Competition (after the name of the first major Swedish case before the European Court of Human Rights). After Professor Sundberg’s retirement, the competition was renamed The Nordic Moot Court competition in 2004 but continued very much along the same lines as before, with the advocate clubs continuing to play the central role.


The competition, engaging 10 teams of Nordic law students led by prominent Nordic advocates, took place in Helsinki on 8-10 June 2023. The final stood between the Norwegian team Club SCHJØDT and the Finnish Club LEIJONHJERTA. Following a very intense and well-argued final held in the Finnish Supreme Court, the bench consisting of the Nordic judges at the European Court of Human Rights declared Club Schjødt, led by Advocates Thomas Horn and Trine Skelstad Jensen, winner.

Club SCHJØDT – More information on the web page of the competition.